Home

Contact IUP

The Inter-University Program is a language center in Beijing governed by a consortium of North American universities, which currently comprises fourteen schools with leading Chinese studies departments. IUP is headquartered at the University of California, Berkeley. Below is contact information for the administrative office, the field office, and for the individual Board representatives from each member university.

IUP group photo

IUP Administrative Office

Inter-University Program for Chinese Language Studies
Wen Bei Lou, 502
Tsinghua University
Beijing 100084
CHINA
清华IUP中文中心
清华大学文北楼502号
北京市海淀区 100084
(86 + 10) 6277-1505 (phone)
(86 + 10) 6277-2221 (fax)

IUP is located in the center of the campus on the top three floors of the Wen Bei Lou building, part of Tsinghua's School of Humanities and Social Sciences.



Executive Director

Thomas B. Gold
tbgold@berkeley.edu



Resident Director

Brent Haas 何必,博士
iup.wbhaas@gmail.com
(86 + 10) 6277-1505 ext. 102 (phone)



Program Manager

iup@berkeley.edu




Note: As of September 1, 2016, all routine admissions and administrative matters for IUP will be handled by the IUP Beijing office at the contacts above. Please continue to contact IUP by email at iup@berkeley.edu.

Admissions materials can continue to be sent to iup-admissions@berkeley.edu.

More complex inquiries or concerns about IUP should be directed to the Resident Director, Dr. Brent Haas, at iup.whaas@gmail.com or (86 + 10) 6277-1505 ext. 102 (phone).




Board Members

Columbia University
Robert Hymes
hymes@columbia.edu

Cornell University
Stephanie A.H. Divo
sah36@cornell.edu

Harvard University
Michael Puett
puett@fas.harvard.edu

Indiana University
Sara Friedman
slfriedm@indiana.edu

Princeton University
Chih-ping Chou
cpchou@princeton.edu

Stanford University
Chao Fen Sun
cfsun@stanford.edu

University of British Columbia
Timothy Cheek
tcheek@mail.ubc.edu

University of California, Berkeley
Sophie Volpp
volpp@berkeley.edu

University of Chicago
Guy Alitto
g-alitto@uchicago.edu

University of Michigan
Miranda Brown
mdbrown@umich.edu

University of Pennsylvania
Victor Mair
vmair@sas.upenn.edu

University of Virginia
Anne Kinney
aeb2n@cms.mail.virginia.edu

University of Washington
Zev Handel
zhandel@u.washington.edu

Yale University
Yu-lin Wang Saussy
yu-lin.saussy@yale.edu