Staff

For information about IEAS or its programs, please call the general line, 510-642-2809 or send email to ieas@berkeley.edu. See the Contact IEAS page for mailing addresses and fax numbers.

IEAS Director's Office

Kevin O'Brien - Director
510.642.2809
kobrien@berkeley.edu

Martin Backstrom - Associate Director
510.642.2815
backstrom@berkeley.edu

Caverlee Cary - Assistant Director for Program Planning
510.643.6492
ccary@berkeley.edu

Charlotte Cowden - Assistant Director for Strategic Planning
510.643.5256
ccowden@berkeley.edu

Rochelle Halperin - Assistant to the Associate Director and Office Manager
510.643.6698
halperin@berkeley.edu

Catherine Lenfestey - Technical Support and Webmaster
510.301.1886
lenfestey@berkeley.edu

Position vacant - Assistant to the IEAS Director/Administative Assistant

IEAS Publications

Katherine Lawn Chouta - Managing Editor
510.643.3378
katechouta@berkeley.edu

Keila Diehl - Managing Editor, Cross-Currents: East Asian History and Culture Review
kdiehl@berkeley.edu

Erik Lyngen - Publications Assistant
510.643.6325
lyngen@berkeley.edu

Center for Chinese Studies

You-tien Hsing - Chair
510.643.6321
yhsing@berkeley.edu

Elinor Levine - Program Director
510.643.6321
ccs@berkeley.edu

Angel Ryono - Visiting Scholar Program Administrator
510.643.6322
ccs-vs@berkeley.edu

National Center for K-16 Chinese Language Pedagogy at UC Berkeley

Stella Kwoh - Academic Director
510.642.8390
stellakwoh@berkeley.edu

Center for Japanese Studies

Steven Vogel - Chair
510.642.3156
svogel@berkeley.edu

Kumi Sawada Hadler - Program Director
510.642.3156
kumi.hadler@berkeley.edu

Tessa Machida - Program Coordinator
510.642.3415
cjs@berkeley.edu

Center for Korean Studies

Laura C. Nelson - Chair
510.642.5674
lcnelson@berkeley.edu

Dylan Davis - Program Director
510.642.5674
cks@berkeley.edu

Dianne-Enpa Cho - Visiting Scholar Program Coordinator
510.642.5674
cks-vs@berkeley.edu

Center for Buddhist Studies

Robert Sharf - Chair
510.642.6369
rsharf@berkeley.edu

Sanjyot Mehendale - Vice Chair
510.643.5104
sanjyotm@berkeley.edu

Group in Asian Studies

Bonnie Wade - Chair
510.642.0333
bcwade@berkeley.edu

Sharmila Shinde - Student Affairs Officer
510.642.0333
asianst@berkeley.edu

Inter-University Program for Chinese Language Studies

Thomas Gold - Executive Director
510.642.3873
tbgold@berkeley.edu

Karen Cheong - Admissions and Program Manager
510.642.3873
iub@socrates.berkeley.edu

Asian Survey

Editorial Office: asiansurvey@berkeley.edu

Lowell Dittmer - Editor
510.642.4117
dittmer@berkeley.edu

Matthew Baxter - Associate Editor for South Asia
510.642.4117
mhbaxter@berkeley.edu

Bonnie Déhler - Production Editor
510.642.4117
dehlerb@berkeley.edu

David Fraser - Managing Editor
510.642.4117
dfraser@berkeley.edu