Staff

For information about IEAS or its programs, please call the general line, 510-642-2809 or send email to ieas@berkeley.edu. See the Contact IEAS page for mailing addresses and fax numbers.

IEAS Director's Office

Kevin O'Brien – Director
510.642.2809
kobrien@berkeley.edu

Martin Backstrom – Associate Director
510.642.2815
backstrom@berkeley.edu

Caverlee Cary – Assistant Director for Program Planning
510.643.6492
ccary@berkeley.edu

Jennie Chuang – Assistant to the IEAS Director/Administative Assistant
510.643.6536
jenniechuang@berkeley.edu

Rochelle Halperin – Assistant to the Associate Director and Office Manager
510.643.6698
halperin@berkeley.edu

Catherine Lenfestey – Webmaster
510.301.1886 (cell)
lenfestey@berkeley.edu

IEAS Publications

Katherine Lawn Chouta – Managing Editor
510.643.3378
katechouta@berkeley.edu

Keila Diehl – Managing Editor, Cross-Currents: East Asian History and Culture Review
kdiehl@berkeley.edu

Erik Lyngen – Publications Assistant
510.643.6325
lyngen@berkeley.edu

Center for Chinese Studies

You-tien Hsing – Chair
510.643.6321
yhsing@berkeley.edu

Elinor Levine – Program Director
510.643.6321
ccs@berkeley.edu

Angel Ryono – Visiting Scholar Program Administrator
510.643.6322
ccs-vs@berkeley.edu

National Center for K-16 Chinese Language Pedagogy at UC Berkeley

Stella Kwoh – Academic Director
510.642.8390
stellakwoh@berkeley.edu

Center for Japanese Studies

Dana Buntrock – Chair
510.642.3156
danab@berkeley.edu

Kumi Sawada Hadler – Program Director
510.642.3156
kumi.hadler@berkeley.edu

Tessa Machida – Program Coordinator
510.642.3415
cjs@berkeley.edu

Center for Korean Studies

Laura C. Nelson – Chair
510.642.5674
lcnelson@berkeley.edu

Stephanie K. Kim – Program Director
510.642.5674
stephaniekkim@berkeley.edu

Dianne-Enpa Cho – Visiting Scholar Program Coordinator
510.643.6326
cks-vs@berkeley.edu

Yu Jung Kim – Assistant Program Coordinator
510.643.9787
yujung.kim@berkeley.edu

Center for Buddhist Studies

Robert Sharf – Chair
510.642.6369
rsharf@berkeley.edu

Sanjyot Mehendale – Vice Chair
510.643.5104
sanjyotm@berkeley.edu

Group in Asian Studies

Bonnie Wade – Chair
510.642.0333
bcwade@berkeley.edu

Dreux Montgomery – Student Affairs Officer
510.642.0333
asianst@berkeley.edu

Inter-University Program for Chinese Language Studies

Thomas Gold – Executive Director
510.642.3873
tbgold@berkeley.edu

Keiko Hjersman – Program Manager
510.642.3873
iup@berkeley.edu

Asian Survey

Editorial Office: asiansurvey@berkeley.edu

Lowell Dittmer – Editor
510.642.4117
dittmer@berkeley.edu

David Fraser – Managing Editor
510.642.4117
dfraser@berkeley.edu